
This substantive policy statement is advisory only. A substantive policy statement does not include 
internal procedural documents that only affect the internal procedures of the agency and does not 
impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information 
or rules made in accordance with the Arizona administrative procedure act. If you believe that this 
substantive policy statement does impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties 
you may petition the agency under Arizona Revised Statutes section 41-1033 for a review of the 
statement. 

 
 

ARIZONA REGULATORY BOARD OF PHYSICIAN ASSISTANTS 

SUBSTANTIVE POLICY STATEMENT #3 

 

GUIDELINES FOR THE IMPLEMENTATION OF REVISED A.R.S. § 32-2523: BIENNIAL LICENSE 

RENEWAL PROCESS; LICENSE FEE AND CME REQUIREMENT ADJUSTMENTS  

 

In 2015, the Arizona Legislature passed SB 1213, which extends the period for which all 
Arizona Physician Assistant licenses are valid to two years and provides that the 
licenses will expire  90 days after the licensees’ birth date.  These changes take effect 
January 1, 2016.   

The Arizona Regulatory Board of Physician Assistants (“Board”) has initiated the regular 
rulemaking process to amend Title 4, Chapter 17 of the Arizona Administrative Code to 
reflect the recent statutory changes but recognizes the statutory changes will be 
effective before the rulemaking process can be completed.  Therefore, the Board adopts 
this Substantive Policy Statement to alert the regulated community of the changes to 
the licensing renewal schedule and the method by which the Board will implement the 
changes to the Board’s statutes.     

A. Licenses Will be Issued and Renewed for Two Years.  License Fees and 
Continuing Medical Education Requirements for Current Licensees Shall 
Be Prorated. 
 
1. Changes to New Licenses  

Beginning January 1, 2016, all regular licenses will be issued for two years. Initial 
license fees will increase from $185.00 to $370.00.  The fees will be prorated for each 
month remaining in the initial biennial licensure period. 

 

 

 



 

2. Changes for Existing Licenses 

All existing licenses (and those granted up through December 31, 2015) must be 
renewed in 2016 on the licensee’s birthday. Licenses that are not renewed on or before 
the Licensee’s birthday expire 90 days after the Licensee’s birthday. 

Beginning January 1, 2016, the biennial renewal fee shall be $370.00  

Beginning January 1, 2016 the biennial CME requirements will increase from 20 to 40 
hours of Category I CME approved by the American Academy of Physician Assistants, 
the American Medical Association, the American Osteopathic Association or other 
acceptable accrediting organization.   

In order to implement the change in renewal deadlines, CME requirements and renewal 
fees for the current 2015-2016 renewal cycle shall be prorated.  The adjusted amount 
will be applied at the time of renewal in accordance with the following schedule.   

Birth Month New Renewal 
Fee 

Prorated 
Adjustment of 
Current License 
Fees 

Revised 
Renewal Fee CME 

January 370.00 -92.50 277.50 12 

February 370.00 -77.08 292.92 13 

March 370.00 -61.67 308.33 15 

April 370.00 -46.25 323.75 17 

May 370.00 -30.83 339.17 18 

June 370.00 -15.42 354.58 20 

July 370.00 0.00 370.00 20 

August 370.00 0.00 370.00 20 

September 370.00 0.00 370.00 20 

October 370.00 0.00 370.00 20 

November 370.00 0.00 370.00 20 

December 370.00 0.00 370.00 20 



 

For instance:  

Licensee Smith timely renewed her license on July 1, 2015.  Her birthday is on March 
15.  Therefore, her 2016 renewal is due on March 15, 2016.  She will need to complete 
15 hours of CME by that same date.  Her renewal fee is $370.00 prorated to $308.33 
due to the shortened length of her 2015-2016 license. 

Licensee Jones timely renewed her license on July 1, 2015.  Her birthday is November 
15.  Therefore, her 2016 renewal is due on November 15, 2016. Her renewal fee will be 
$370.00 and her CME requirement for the 2015-2016 renewal year will be 20 hours.    

 

B. Renewal Time Frames  

Beginning January 1, 2016, The Board shall abide by the following time frames  to 
implement the changes to A.R.S. § 32-2523: 

Type of License 
Overall  

Time-frame 

Administrative 
Review  

Time-frame 

Time to 
Respond to 
Deficiency 

Notice 

Substantive 
Review  

Time-frame 

Time to Respond 
to Request for 

Additional 
Information 

License Renewal 
R4-17-206 

60 30 30 30 30 

 

 


